What is the Listing of Impairments?

On Behalf of | Sep 2, 2021 | Social Security Disability

Under Part A of the Social Security Administration’s (SSA’s) Blue Book or ‘Listing of Impairments,’ there a wide variety of medical conditions that qualify an adult (age 18 or older) for Social Security Disability (SSD) benefits (Part B applies to impairments in children under the age of 18). Mental and physical conditions are separated into categories based on the parts or systems of the body they impact.

There are 14 sections in Part A:

  • 00 – Musculoskeletal Disorders
  • 00 – Special Senses and Speech
  • 00 – Respiratory Disorders
  • 00 – Cardiovascular System
  • 00 – Digestive System
  • 00 – Genitourinary Disorders
  • 00 – Hematological Disorders
  • 00 – Skin Disorders
  • 00 – Endocrine Disorders
  • 00 – Congenital Disorders
  • 00 – Neurological Disorders
  • 00 – Mental Disorders
  • 00 – Cancer (Malignant Neoplastic Diseases)
  • 00 – Immune System Disorders

If a claimant meets the criteria for a condition listed in the Listing of Impairments, they are automatically considered ‘disabled’ under the SSA’s definition. This makes it more likely that they will qualify for SSD benefits. Claimants will generally have to provide the SSA with the evidence it needs to confirm that an impairment exists and that it is severe enough to prevent them from performing any substantially gainful activity (full-time or part-time work). Under SSA regulations, evidence used to establish that your impairment exists must be from an ‘acceptable medical source’ and must be objective. To determine severity, the SSA will consider both medical and nonmedical sources that address the impact of your condition on your ability to work.

It is important to remember that you condition does not need to be listed in the Blue Book to qualify for SSD benefits. A San Diego attorney specializing in SSD can help you prove to the SSA that you are entitled to disability benefits.